← All white papersComparison · Updated October 2026

Best AI receptionist for Australian tradies (2026)

Want the job booked into ServiceM8 or Simpro while the caller is still on the line? Four can do it: Relay, Chime Labs (Pro plan), Sophiie and ours. Ours is the only one that says it does all eight checks below, including telling every caller it is an AI. We scored every vendor the same way, with prices from their own websites on 7 October 2026, so you can check us.

8 min read·Published by AI Pathway

Which one if…

You are on ServiceM8 or Simpro and want the call to end as a job, not a message
A product that writes the job: Relay (ServiceM8 only), Chime Labs on Pro, Sophiie, or ours. Ask each how it stops a second job for the same burst pipe.
A handful of calls a month, and a message is enough
A message-taker: noema Solo, Hey Jodie, or ServiceM8’s own Phone Agent if you already pay for ServiceM8.
Most calls are complaints or about jobs already booked
A person. A human answering service beats every row below at that.
You run on Tradify
No product in this table writes a Tradify job out of the box: Tradify has no public API. Ours can be connected another way, because we build integrations as well as sell the product. Otherwise pick on price and disclosure.
You want it to say it is an AI on every call
noema (in its terms) or ours. Most others leave it to you to configure, and two advertise the opposite.
You want to hear it before you pay
A public demo: Chime Labs, Frontly and noema in the browser, AiDial on 02 6422 0000, and ours at /demo.
Your calls are unusual and you want it built for you
A managed build with a scope of work: AiDial.

This page is written to be checked rather than trusted: every figure is from the vendor’s own pages, our own row is scored by the same rules, and the section on where each one is right includes the cases where we are not.

1. The comparison

Read from each vendor’s own pages on 7 October 2026, reproduced as advertised. Prices are monthly. “Not stated” means the page does not say. The second column is what the call ends as: writes the job (a job in your system, against a client, with an address), takes a message (somebody still types the job), or a managed build (a scope of work and a setup fee). The last row is ours.

On a small screen, the table scrolls sideways.

AI receptionists for Australian tradies, read from each vendor’s own pages on 7 October 2026
VendorWhat the call ends asPrice a month (GST as stated)Call or minute cap, overageSetup feeTrialJob systems it writes intoSays it is an AIPublic demo
Relay (Leva Solutions)Writes the job$199, flat. GST not stated“No per-minute charges”, “unlimited 24/7 answering”None7 days, no contractServiceM8 job card. Google Calendar for bookingsNot stated. Homepage: “Your customers won’t know the difference.”Personalised web demo from your website, and a recorded call. No number
Chime LabsWrites the job on Pro. Essential books a calendarEssential $99 + GST. Pro $399 + GST. Free plan for test callsEssential 100 min, then $0.25 a minute. Pro uncapped$300 onboarding call, optional on Essential, included on Pro (first month paid upfront)Free plan, test calls from the app. No fixed-length trial statedPro only: ServiceM8, Simpro, ServiceTitan, Fergus, Jobber, AroFlo, Ascora, Acuity. Essential: Google Calendar or its own diaryOnly “when asked” (blog FAQ). Terms put the duty to tell callers on youYes, in the browser on its homepage
TradieDeeWrites the job (claimed)$39 / $100 / $200. Currency and GST not stated50 / 200 / 400 min. Overage not statedNot stated7 days, no cardSays jobs are created in ServiceM8 and Simpro (Pro and up). Tradify namedNo. FAQ: “Most customers have no idea they’re talking to AI.”Recorded sample call. No live demo
JohnniPrices as at 26 September 2026. Check its site for today’s.Writes the job (as at 26 September)$44 pay as you go, $134 Solo, + GST60 / 200 min, then $0.50 / $0.45 a minuteNone stated. Job software integration a paid custom add-on. SMS alerts $50 a month7 daysClaimed ServiceM8 and Simpro, sold as the add-onNot statedNot checked
SophiieWrites the jobNot published. A free plan; “30 to 2,500 calls/mo by plan”Not published per planNone on the free plan14 days, plus a free plan, no cardTwo-way ServiceM8 and Simpro. Ascora enquiries one way. Its own job managementNot stated. Terms put AI and recording disclosure on you“Speak to Sophiie” browser button (we did not test it). No number
AiDialManaged buildCore $149 (Scale $249, Max $449). Currency and GST not statedCore: 60 call units of up to 10 min, then $2.49 a call. No ceiling you can setSet in your scope of work, which may also set a minimum termNone statedServiceM8 jobs, configured per project; integrations a custom quote. Tradify, AroFlo, Fergus, Simpro named on the trade page onlyNot stated. FAQ: you tell callers, “where required by law”Yes: 02 6422 0000, and a call-me form
FrontlyTakes a message (to the Frontly dashboard)Answer 200: $199 ex GST on annual (12 months upfront), $239 ex GST month to month200 min, then $1.50 a minute$299 + GST on month to month, non-refundable. Waived on annualCalls free for the first 7 daysFrontly dashboard. ServiceM8, Simpro, Fergus, AroFlo, Jobber listed; a job-card write is not describedIf you set it to. Terms forbid concealing itYes, in the browser
Hey JodieTakes a messageBasic A$99 (A$199, A$399). Tax added at checkoutUnlimited minutes, no call capNone7 days, no cardNone direct. Zapier on the top tierNot stated. Configurable; terms put it on youNot public: a number after sign-up
noemaTakes a messageSolo $79 ex GST (Growing $159, Pro $349)150 calls; spam, robocalls and hang-ups not counted. Overage not readableNot stated21 days, no cardServiceM8 “CRM integration” on Growing ($159), depth not described. Simpro and Tradify “coming soon”Yes, at the start of each call (its terms)Yes: it rings your phone, or in the browser
ServiceM8 Phone AgentTakes a message$49 (Connect Plus), on top of ServiceM8. GST not stated500 min, then 8c a minuteNone stated1 month, with a ServiceM8 subscriptionA ServiceM8 Inbox message or booking request. Not a job cardNot statedNone found
Office Voice, Front Desk (ours)Writes the job$119 a month. FlatNo call caps, no per-minute overage$29 number setup, off your first bill30 days freeServiceM8 and Simpro job card out of the box. Any other system connected for you, with or without an APIYes, first sentence of every call, with the recording noticeYes, in the browser at /demo

How this table was read

We opened every vendor that appears for “best AI receptionist for tradies Australia” and “AI receptionist ServiceM8”, plus the ones named in the competing comparisons, and copied down what each vendor’s own pages say. Nobody was contacted. Nothing was estimated. If a page does not state GST or the currency, the table says so. Why the fuss about the source: on 26 September, one vendor’s comparison listed Relay at $99 a month when Relay’s own page says $199, and another described AiDial’s call unit as five minutes when AiDial’s page says ten. Both were plausible. Both were wrong.

  • Johnni could not be re-checked this round, so its row shows the 26 September figures and it is left out of the scorecard. Check its pricing page for today’s.
  • Never Miss a Call was in this table on 26 September. Since then it has left the trades market: the site now sells “Ruby” to salons, cafes and similar businesses and no longer mentions tradies or a job system, so it is no longer listed.
  • Managed voice agents sold across many industries (Aussie AI Agency, Valory, Yes AI, Waboom) are priced in what an AI receptionist actually costs, which also shows how to turn minutes, calls and call units into your own month. They are not comparable across the cap column as printed.

2. The eight checks, vendor by vendor

Of the nine other vendors we could read, none says on its own pages that it checks the address against a map, captures consent before it texts your customer, or stops a duplicate job.

Those three are what put the van at the right house once. “Creates the job in ServiceM8” can mean a job with a verified address against the right client, or a job with whatever the caller said in the address field and a second copy from the call-back. Where a vendor does something nearby, such as matching a returning caller to the existing client or texting a confirmation without mentioning consent, it is marked Partial.

Not stated means the vendor’s own pages are silent, not that it cannot. Ask. Our column is our own claim about our own product, scored against what /trades says it does. It is Yes on all eight. That is our claim, so hear it and check.

On a small screen, the scorecard scrolls sideways.

The eight checks against each vendor’s own pages, read on 7 October 2026: Yes, Partial, No or Not stated
CheckRelayChime LabsTradieDeeSophiieAiDialFrontlyHey JodienoemaSM8 Phone AgentOurs
1. Answers in your business name, at any hourYesYesPartialPartialPartialYesPartialYesPartialYes
2. Says it is an AI assistant and that the call is recorded, before anything elseNoNot statedNoNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedPartialNot statedYes
3. Asks what the problem is, where, and how urgentPartialYesPartialNot statedPartialYesPartialYesNot statedYes
4. Verifies the address against Maps before a job can existNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedYes
5. Classifies the work from a fixed list: emergency, routine, or quoteYesPartialNot statedPartialYesYesNot statedPartialNot statedYes
6. Writes the job into your system once, and checks it is not a duplicatePartialPartialPartialPartialPartialNot statedNot statedNot statedNoYes
7. Texts the customer a reference, with consent captured on the callNot statedPartialPartialPartialPartialNot statedNot statedPartialNot statedYes
8. Alerts your on-call tech only when the job is genuinely urgentNot statedNot statedYesNot statedYesYesNot statedYesPartialYes

Saying it is an AI, and recording

If your AI receptionist does not say it is an AI, you may be in breach of the Australian Consumer Law on misleading conduct, which the ACCC enforces. The ACCC can make a business hand over its call records and recordings, and since 10 November 2022 the maximum penalty for a company is the greater of $50 million, three times the benefit gained, or 30% of turnover during the breach. It is your business name on the call, so the risk is yours, not the vendor’s.

  • noema says in its terms that its AI “informs callers at the commencement of each call that they are speaking with an AI assistant.” Its pages do not mention a recording notice, though the service records.
  • TradieDee and Relay advertise the opposite. TradieDee’s FAQ: “Most customers have no idea they’re talking to AI.” Relay’s homepage: “Your customers won’t know the difference.”
  • Frontly lets you choose how the agent introduces itself, “including as an AI assistant”, and its terms say not to configure it to “conceal their automated nature.” Recording is a $20 add-on whose legal obligations sit with you.
  • Chime Labs, Sophiie, AiDial and Hey Jodie put the duty to tell callers on you, in their terms or FAQ. Chime Labs’ blog says “Best practice is to be upfront it’s an AI when asked”.
  • ServiceM8’s Phone Agent pages say nothing either way.

Our view is on /trades: an unannounced AI in your business name is a misleading-conduct shape, and recording needs every party’s consent in Victoria, Tasmania and the ACT. One sentence at the top of the call deals with both. The long version is the compliance paper.

3. Where each one is genuinely the right answer

  • Relay: a ServiceM8 shop that wants a job card and a schedule check on the call, at one flat price with no setup and no minutes to count.
  • Chime Labs: the widest published list of job systems on Pro, including Jobber, Fergus and AroFlo, with uncapped minutes. Essential, if a calendar booking is enough. A free plan to try it first.
  • TradieDee: the lowest headline price with a job-creation claim and urgent calls put through to your mobile, if you confirm the currency, GST and overage before you rely on it.
  • Sophiie: a whole front office, through to quoting and invoicing in ServiceM8 or Simpro, with a free plan to start, if you can live without a published price.
  • AiDial: a scoped, configured deployment with urgent calls routed to on-call staff, and a demo number you can ring today.
  • Frontly: a plain ex-GST minute plan, triage with an on-call route, and a dashboard is where you want bookings to land.
  • Hey Jodie: a predictable flat bill with unlimited minutes, when a summary by SMS is all you need.
  • noema: the cheapest intake that says it is an AI at the start of every call, with spam not counted, for a business that mostly needs triage and a text.
  • ServiceM8 Phone Agent: you already pay for ServiceM8 and an Inbox message or booking request is enough.
  • A human answering service: most of your calls are complaints or existing jobs. No AI in the table beats a person at that, and the comparison says when to buy one instead.

4. Where vendors contradict themselves

Not accusations. In each case two pages on the same site say different things. Ask which one is true before you sign.

  • TradieDee: claims “no per-minute charges” on plans capped at 50, 200 and 400 minutes, and does not say what happens past the cap.
  • Chime Labs: its reception page shows a Tradify logo under “Works with”; the pricing page’s list of systems it books into does not include Tradify. And job-system writes are listed on Pro only, so the $99 Essential plan books a calendar, not a job.
  • AiDial: the trade page names ServiceM8, Tradify, AroFlo, Fergus and Simpro. Its documented integrations cover ServiceM8, and the pricing page lists integrations as a custom quote.
  • Every third-party comparison we read had at least one price the vendor’s own page does not support. Including, in all likelihood, a future version of this one, which is what section 6 is for.

5. Where we sit

Front Desk is the last row: $119 a month, flat, with no call caps and a 30-day free trial. It answers all day, or only out of hours if that is how you set it up. Setting up the number costs $29, which comes off the first bill. It says it is an AI first, writes one job into ServiceM8 or Simpro, and wakes the on-call phone only for an emergency. That is our claim about our own product, so hear it and check.

We are not the answer if you take a handful of calls a month (noema or the ServiceM8 Phone Agent costs less), most calls are complaints or existing jobs (a person wins), or you want a price quoted on the call, which we refuse to do.

On another system? ServiceM8 and Simpro work out of the box. Because we are a consultancy as well as a product, we connect Front Desk to whatever else you run: Jobber, Fergus, AroFlo, Tradify, Microsoft 365, Google Workspace or anything built on them. If it has an API we use it, and if it does not we find another way in.

6. Re-check before you sign

Prices in this market change without notice: between 26 September and 7 October 2026, one vendor raised its entry plan and tripled its per-minute overage, another now lists job-system writes on its dearer plan only, and a third left the trades market. Treat the table as a map of what to ask, not a quote. Four questions, in order:

  1. Is that price inclusive of GST, and in Australian dollars?
  2. Which of the eight checks does your agent actually do, and can I hear it on a demo before I pay?
  3. Is the ServiceM8 or Simpro write included at this price, or an add-on, and does it create a job card or a message?
  4. Does the agent say it is an AI, and where is the recording consent handled?

If you find a figure here that a vendor’s own page no longer supports, tell us and we will change it the same week. Everything on this page was read on 7 October 2026.

Technical, and using Claude or another coding agent? Why not build your own? Here’s the open build standard to get you going.

Published by AI Pathway · https://aipathway.com.au

Read the full interactive version at https://aipathway.com.au/explore-ai/best-ai-receptionist-for-tradies-australia